A major milestone: my 25th birthday!

Greetings my loves!

Well, despite the shitty circumstances I’m in, I’m excited to say that I’ll be turning 25 this month…YAY! And already the month is starting off fantastically on account of Jason Collins being the first openly gay athlete still active in the NBA. I commend you, Jason, for being an outstanding influence and role model. I seen in an interview that he did that he wanted to end the stereotypes of what “gay” is, which I think he was referring to the most common stereotypes of gay men as feminine and flamboyant, not that there is anything wrong with anyone’s personal individuality. But he is a perfect example of a masculine man who also identifies as an openly gay man. And not to mention he is so very sexy… (wink wink) LOL. But nonetheless, the LGBTQGNC community thanks Jason Collins for being a leader and help to end the stereotypes and marginalizations that are attached and associated with the LGBTQ-GNC community. Our support is here for you! And the revolution continues…

Now as I mentioned I’ll be turning 25 this month, and for me being in prison for saving my own life is worth celebrating another year, even if it’s in a fucked up environment. I feel blessed–no I am blessed to say that I’ve lived for a quarter of a century. That through my trials and tribulations, through my life’s quarrels, that when I never thought I’d make it past the age of sixteen, I triumphed over all obstacles and that in itself is a victory. So for me, this is a major milestone, especially considering the violence against trans women and the injustices of a faulty “judicial system” and a society that’s been hijacked and distorted by radical-religious ideas. I can say that through all the adversity I faced over the course of time I lived so far, I’ve evolved and accomplished more than I would have ever imagined. And I can only go up from here! And it’s also a blessing to have such wonderful, loving, caring people in my life. I want to take this time to thank those people who have grown to know me and love me as I do for them. I love you all so much, there aren’t even words to express my love and gratitude for you all. Also to all the supporters around the world I LOVE YOU ALL!

I also want to give a major shout-out to my mom, and all moms around the globe in honor of Mother’s Day. I love you so much mommy, and I love both my grannies and all my beautiful aunts. These women are great examples of strong, fierce females and I’m so appreciative of them for being understanding and caring. And for my mom who is supportive and helping me through this tough time, you’ve been a great mom and I love you. Thank you for being a top notch mom.

Before I go I want to leave you with the quote of the month and a poem that was on a card that someone sent me:

“To love is to risk not being loved in return: To hope is to risk pain. To try is to risk failure, but risk must be taken because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing.” (Author unknown)

This next piece is a poem titled “Her Journey’s Just Begun” by E. Breneman. I fell in love with it after reading it because it related to me so well.

Her Journey’s Just Begun

Don’t think of her as gone away–

her journey’s just begun,

life holds so many facets–

this earth is only one.

Just think of her as resting

from the sorrows and the tears

in a place of warmth and comfort

where there are no days and years.

Think of how she must be wishing

that we could know today

how nothing but our sadness

can really pass away.

And think of her as living

in the hearts of those she touched…

for nothing loved is ever lost–

and she was loved so much.

Thank you Tracy in El Cerrito, CA for that beautiful card and that significant poem. I greatly appreciate it. Thank you all for hte love and support. T.T.Y.L.!

Posted on May 17, 2013, in CeCe's Blog, Updates. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on A major milestone: my 25th birthday!.

Comments are closed.